Situated in a natural setting of extraordinary beauty opposite the rock of the ‘Scialandro’ and close to ‘Cape of the Cross’, the former Cofano ‘tonnara’ already existed in 1404, when is was owned by the Bosco family. It was inhabited until the mid-twentieth century.
As the main source of economic livelihood for the fishermen of the area, it was one of the most active and productive tuna processing plants for the economy of Trapani.
Adjacent to the ‘tonnara’ is the tower dating back to the 16th century, part of the Spanish defense system along the coast of Sicily. Built between 1556 and 1560, it has a square four-pointed star shape and due to its concave walls represents a unique example of its kind in Sicily.
It was in visual contact to the north-east with the ‘Isulidda’ tower just across the bay, to the south-east with the ‘Muzza’ tower; no communication was possible however with the nearby tower of St. John because it was obstructed by Mount Cofano.
The tower was purchased by the Regional domain in May 2006. Restored with EU funds, it was reopened to the public in April 2010.
No locations found.